Services
Define and manage services in ilert to reflect availability status and impact across incidents and status pages.
Users can subscribe to services to receive notifications about status updates that affect specific business capabilities.
A service has any of the following states:
Operational
All aspects of the service are working as expected.
Under maintenance
The service is under maintenance.
Degraded
The service is working but is impacted in a minor way, e.g. its performance is slower than usual.
Partial outage
The service is not working for a subset of customers, e.g. a certain region.
Major outage
The service is not available.
The status of a service can be updated when you post a status update, or independently on the service itself.
Create a service
To create a new service, navigate to the Services page, click on the Create new service button.

Give the service a name that is descriptive to the users of the service and click on Create new service.

The service is now ready to be used in incidents or included in status pages.
Automation with alert sources
You can automatically set the status of a service and post status updates using alert actions that are triggered by your alert sources.
To configure an automation
in the sidebar, go to Alerting → Alert sources

choose an alert source and navigate to the Alert actions tab
click on Create new alert action
select the ilert incidents action type and click Next

Once you have configured the automation, any alert created on the chosen alert source will run the action and—depending on how you configure it—set service status or post a status update. Make sure that the trigger mode is set to Automatic for the action to run on every alert:

Service uptime
How to hide historical service uptime
By default, a service's historical uptime is shown and you can choose to hide service uptime on the status page. If you'd like to globally disable historical uptime, thus preventing any status page from displaying the historical uptime, you can do so in the service settings:
Go the services page and click on the service for which you want to hide the uptime
In the Settings tab, check the option Never show historical uptime

Click on Save
How is the uptime of a service calculated?
The uptime percentage of a service is calculated based on the status of the service over a given period. ilert displays the uptime over a period of up to 90 days. We consider the states Operational, Degraded and Under maintenance as uptime. The states Major outage and Partial outage are counted as downtime, where partial outage minutes only count 30% as much as major outages.
Over a period t, the uptime percentage is calculated according the following formula:
where
u is the uptime percentage
m is the major outage in minutes
p is the partial outage in minutes
t is the period in minutes
Example: During a period of 24 hours, a service was 5 minutes in the status Major outage and 30 minutes in the status Partial outage. The uptime of the service for that 24 hours period is calculated as follows:
How is the color of each day in the uptime graph determined?
Each day in the uptime graph is color-coded based on the total outage minutes of that day. The outage minutes are calculated using the same weighted formula as above, where partial outage minutes count 30% as much as major outages.
The color ranges from green (no or minimal downtime) to red (significant downtime):
0 minutes
Green
> 0 – 6 minutes
Light green
> 6 – 9 minutes
Lime
9 – 12 minutes
Light yellow
12 – 25 minutes
Yellow
25 – 30 minutes
Light orange
30 – 40 minutes
Orange
40 – 45 minutes
Dark orange
45 – 50 minutes
Light red
50 – 60 minutes
Red
60+ minutes
Dark red
Days in the future as well as days before the service was created (where no uptime data exists) are displayed in grey.
Add / remove subscribers to a service
Subscribers will automatically receive notifications when the Send notifications option is selected on a status update. There are two ways to subscribe users to a service
Users can add / remove themselves as subscribers
A user with Responder privileges can manually subscribe users or entire teams to a service
To self-subscribe to a service, go the Services page and click on Subscribe. To unsubscribe, click on the Unsubscribe button.

To add or remove users and teams as subscribers from a service, go to the Subscribers tab from the service.

Last updated
Was this helpful?