iLerts flexible teams feature allows you to easily manage complex permission scenarios and keep the UI experience for your users and teams simple by only showing the resources owned by the selected team. It enables productivity while managing hundreds of alert sources and users, as well as hundred-thousands of incidents.
The team filter lets you switch between different team contexs. It gives you the following options depending on the corresponding teams existing in your account.
All teams essentially removes any filter and shows you all objects that you have permission to view, including those that are not associated with any teams
My teams shows you all objects of the teams that you are a member of
A specific team: selecting a specific team will show you all objects that are associated with the selected team
The team filter is located at the top right in the navigation bar:
In case your account requires a large amount of teams, the team filter will automatically collapse and include a search field to quickly navigation between different team views:
The team filter is also available in the mobile app:
The team filter selection is stored for each user and synced across devices - meaning users will always continue where they left off, even when changing from desktop to the mobile app.
Teams can be created by Admin users and the account owner. Existing team members may also be managed by users that have been elevated to Admins in the team itself (see Team Roles).
To create a new team, navigate to the list view using the Teams link in the settings navigation menu.
Click on Add new team, enter a name for your new team and use the Create team button to create it.
You may now add new members or resources to the team.
You may also directly manage the team ownerships of resources in their edit views, for example alert sources:
In case no teams are available for the current user (with included write permission) the team selector may not appear in the edit views.
You may choose to create a private team, which allows you to restrict visibility of the team and its associated objects (including users) to the team members. Note that global admins and the account owner will be able to see the data of a private team, even if they are not a member of the team.
To make a team private, navigate to the team's setting page and chose Private under Team visibility.
Team roles extend the permissions of base roles within the context of a team. For example if you have been assigned the Responder role as your base role, and have been assigned the Team User role within a team, you will be granted the permissions of the User role within that team.
The following team roles are available:
The permissions of team roles match the permissions of global roles, except that they are limited to the team's context (meaning resources that this team has ownerships of).
Besides plain resource read and write permissions which are based on global roles and may be overwritten in a team context by the equivalent team roles, as described above in Team roles. The permission for addition and removal of team ownerships is validated under the following axiom:
An example to put this axiom into action:
A user (with global User role) that is a member of Team1 (with team role User) is not able to delete an alert source that is owned by Team1 and Team2. Because he is neither an Admin nor a write-level team member of Team2. He may only remove the ownership of Team1 of which he is a team member and leave the resource ownership solemnly to Team2.
An administrator with the All teams filter sees all alert sources in the account.
A user of the Mobility team with active specific team filter only sees the alert sources of his interest.
An incident is visible to a user in a team context if
its alert source is part of the team context or
its escalation policy is part of the team context or
if the current user is subscribed to the incident as stakeholder
it's assigned to the current user directly
This way incidents may still be shared across team contexts or re-assigned by higher level permission users to ensure the most flexible workflow for your users in any scenario.
The context and permission of teams will automatically adopt onto incident, on-call and even notification reports. Meaning that the selected team filter will have a direct impact on the shown resources in the report, as well as the user permissions on the data accessable in the shared form of the report.
No you dont have to. Teams is ment to be an enhancement for larger companies and enterprises to keep their users productive. When no teams are created in your account, the team specific ui elements wont be shown and you may use and share all resources globally across your account by default.
The Guest user is ment to be without global read permission per default - meaning only the membership of a team will grant him rights to see resources within the context of these teams. Therefore there is no reason to offer a non-read permissioned role on the team level.
The roles giving lesser permission e.g. a global User with a Responder team role will be automatically changed so that the team role reflects the global role in our example this will give the global User the User team role (a warning will be shown on the settings page beforehand).
Absolutely. To achieve this, all users should have the global Responder role, while being placed in their specific teams with the User team role, this way users will always have to assign new resources to their team.Then all teams should be configured to be private, a user or resource should never be in more than one team, this way their context are completely separated. Do not forget to place the Account owner in its own private team to hide him from the others and to delete the Default escalation policy.