User roles and permissions
ilert's flexible role management allows you to easily setup access for your users.
A user in ilert can have one of the following roles:
Stakeholders will only be able to see the incidents to which they have been added as a subscriber and won't be able to see any other data, such as alerts, alert sources, escalation policies, etc. Additionally, they can see the status pages and services to which they have been granted access. In order to grant a stakeholder user access to resources, the stakholder needs to be added to a team that contains said resources. This role is only available as part of our Premium plan.
Guests users have access to the application, however they cannot see any resources or users unless they are added as member of a team, which gives them (depending on their team role) the permission to see or even edit the resources of the specific team.
Responders can use the web ui and mobile app to manage alerts just like Users, however they have no permission to create or modify any objects, such as alert sources, schedules, or escalation policies. Besides taking actions on alerts, Responders can add themselves as overrides to schedules.
Users can create or modify entities like alert sources or on-call schedules, however they cannot create or modify (or invite) other users (of any role), as well as change account setttings. Users are also not able to create or modify Teams. Although users may edit public resources globally, they may not change the ownership of resource (team context).
Users may not create or modify teams. But an Admin may grant a User, as member of a team, the right to modify certain team. A Team Admin is therefore actually not a role in itself, it is an additional permission that may be granted to a User on a team basis**.**
An Admin is a User with elevated priviliges. He may not access or modify the account settings. However he can create and modify Users as well as Teams, he may also change the role of Users and can create and edit connectors**.** An Admin has the right to add and remove team ownerships to/from resources.
An account owner has the same privileges as an Admin, with the addition of being able to access and modify the account settings as well as subscription and billing settings. Only the account owner himself is able to transfer the Account Owner role to another User. There can only be a single account owner per account.
The table below gives an overview of the role permissions.
*Stakeholders have view access to shared (team membership) or subscribed incidents, services and status pages **The actual data that is shown in reports will depend on the permissions of the current user. If the user has no access to a schedule for example, he will not see the on-call-duty data of this schedule when browsing reports. (Read more here)
To change a user's role
- 1.Click on the cog-icon in the navigation bar and select Users & teams
- 2.Click the Edit link for the user you would like to change.
- 3.In the Basic information section, select the user's role from the dropdown menu: